Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Daffodils at 140!

This is NOT about Twitter :)

I have  yet to get stuck on tweeting.

!40 represents the number of countries where Daffodils has reached..... some relatively unknown.

Sharing the flags and  little fact about some of the special counties where Daffodils seems to have reached out to an audience :)


Honduras is a republic in Central America. IThe country is bordered to the west by Guatemala, to the southwest byEl Salvador, to the southeast by Nicaragua, to the south by the Pacific Ocean at the Gulf of Fonseca, and to the north by the Gulf of Honduras, a large inlet of the Caribbean Sea.
Honduras was home to several important indigenous cultures, most notably the Maya


Uganda  officially the Republic of Uganda, is a landlocked country in East Africa. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, being also shared by Kenya and Tanzania.


Albania officially known as the Republic of Albania , is a country in Southeastern Europe

Algeria , also formally referred to as the Democratic and Popular Algerian Republic, is an Arab country in the Maghreb region of Africa. Its capital (and most populous city) is Algiers.

Andorra , is a landlocked microstate in Southwestern Europe, located in the eastern Pyrenees mountains and bordered by Spain and France. It is the sixthsmallest nation in Europe, having an area of 468 km2 (181 sq mi) and an estimated population of 85,000 in 2012. Its capital,Andorra la Vella, is the highest capital city in Europe, at an elevation of 1,023 metres (3,356 ft) above sea level. The official language is Catalan,

Aruba is a 33-kilometer-long (20 mi) island of the Lesser Antilles in the southern Caribbean Sea, located 27 km (17 mi) north of the coast of Venezuela.

Barbados is a sovereign island country in the Lesser Antilles. It is 34 kilometres in length and up to 23 kilometres in width, covering an area of 431 square kilometres . It is situated in the western area of the North Atlantic and 100 kilometres  east of the Windward Islands and the Caribbean Sea

Belarus , officially the Republic of Belarus, is a landlocked country in Eastern Europe,bordered by Russia to the northeast, Ukraine to the south, Poland to the west, and Lithuania and Latvia to the northwest. Its capital is Minsk.


Belize is a country located on the north eastern coast of Central America and it is the only country in the area where English is the official language, although Kriol and Spanish are more commonly spoken.

 Belize is bordered to the north by Mexico, south and west by Guatemala, and to the east by the Caribbean Sea

Croatia , is a unitary democratic parliamentary republic in Europe at the crossroads of Central Europe, the Balkans, and the Mediterranean.

 Its capital and largest city is Zagreb.


Ecuador , officially the Republic of Ecuador , which literally translates as "Republic of the Equator" is a representative democratic republic in South America, bordered by Colombiaon the north, Peru on the east and south, and by the Pacific Ocean to the west.

 It is one of only two countries in South America, along with Chile, that do not have a border with Brazil. The country also includes the Galápagos Islands in the Pacific, about 1,000 kilometres  west of the mainland.

Brunei Darassulam

Brunei , officially the Nation of Brunei, the Abode of Peace, is a sovereign state located on the north coast of the island of Borneo, in Southeast Asia.

 Apart from its coastline with the South China Sea, it is completely surrounded by the state of SarawakMalaysia, and it is separated into two parts by the Sarawak district of Limbang.

 It is the only sovereign state completely on the island of Borneo, with the remainder of the island belonging to Malaysia and Indonesia.


Guernsey , officially the Bailiwick of Guernsey , is a British Crown dependency in the English Channel off the coast of Normandy.

Kazakhstan  officially the Republic of Kazakhstan, is a country in Central Asia and Eastern Europe. The ninth largestcountry in the world by land area, it is also the world's largest landlocked country.

 Its territory of 2,727,300 square kilometres  is larger than Western Europe.Moreover, lying on both sides of the Ural River makes Kazakhstan one of the only two landlocked countries in the world lying on two continents

Laos , officially the Lao People's Democratic Republic, is a landlocked country in Southeast Asia, bordered by Burma and China to the northwest, Vietnam to the east, Cambodia to the south and Thailand to the west

Latvia , is a country in the Baltic region of Northern Europe. It is bordered to the north by Estonia , to the south by Lithuania , to the east by the Russian Federation , to the southeast by Belarus , and shares maritime borders to the west with Sweden

Lesotho , officially the Kingdom of Lesotho, is a landlocked country and enclave, completely surrounded by its only neighbouring country, the Republic of South Africa. It is just over 30,000 km2  in size with a population of approximately 2,067,000.

 Its capital and largest city is Maseru. Lesotho is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations. The name Lesotho translates roughly into the land of the people who speak Sesotho. 


Lithuania , officially the Republic of Lithuania  is a country in Northern Europe, the largest of the three Baltic states
 is situated along the southeastern shore of the Baltic Sea, to the east of Sweden and Denmark

Everyone has heard of this, thanks to Bollywood awards and this being a HOT holiday destination!

Macau , is one of the two special administrative regions of the People's Republic of China, the other being Hong Kong

Macau lies on the western side of the Pearl River Delta across from Hong Kong to the east, bordering Guangdong province to the north and facing the South China Sea to the east and south.

The territory's economy is heavily dependent on gambling and tourism, but also includes manufacturing.

Mozambique, officially the Republic of Mozambique , is a country in Southeast Africa bordered by the Indian Ocean to the east, Tanzania to the north, Malawi and Zambia to the northwest, Zimbabwe to the west and Swaziland and South Africa to the southwest. 

The capital city is Maputo.

Papua  New Guinea
Papua New Guinea , officially the Independent State of Papua New Guinea, is a country in Oceania, occupying the eastern half of the island of New Guinea (the western portion of the island is a part of the Indonesianprovinces of Papua and West Papua) and numerous offshore islands. 

It is located in the southwestern Pacific Ocean, in a region defined since the early 19th century as Melanesia.

 The capital is Port Moresby.

Haiti , officially the Republic of Haiti , is a Caribbean country. 

Tunisia , officially the Republic of Tunisia, is the smallest country in North Africa

It is an Arab Maghreb country and is bordered by Algeria to the west, Libya to the southeast, and the Mediterranean Sea to the north and east.

Turks and Caicos Islands
The Turks and Caicos Islands are a British Overseas Territory consisting of two groups of tropical islands in the West Indies, the larger Caicos Islands and the smaller Turks Islands, known for tourism and as an offshore financial centre.

And finally, my Alma Mater too is reading Daffodils :)

Zambia , officially the Republic of Zambia, is a landlocked country in Southern Africa

The neighbouring countries are the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north, Tanzania to the north-east, Malawi to the east, MozambiqueZimbabweBotswana and Namibia to the south, and Angola to the west. 

The capital city is Lusaka, located in the south-central part of the country. 

The population is concentrated mainly around Lusaka in the south and the Copperbelt Province to the northwest.


Not a bad reach, eh? :)))))

Hoping to break into more lands and islands...........

[Courtesy Wiki]